Count it down

Merry Christmas (very vintage belated), Happy New Year (slightly belated) and Weeeelcome to my little corner of exotic shenanigans :)
(Was soviel bedeutet wie Blödsinn, Unfug, Schabernack oder Eischigkeit…)

TwentySixteen is in the house and I am delighted (on the edge of overwhelmingness) to announce that storytelling continues against all odds and obstacles even in 2016! – FAR OUT!!

.
What has 2015 been for a wild ride, hasn’t it just? As a young, innocent german school boy I left for a big adventure over 18.000 km away from home on the other side of the world. New Zealand was the distant destination. With a short layover stop (of two weeks paradise in Thailand) New Zealand became my new Home for twelve month. A time which is most likely about to end in two weeks.

An unique experience. A great and beautiful time. With outstanding people.

YES YES YES,… we know all know I had a pretty decent time over here.
But it’s not time yet, to look back, get all emotional and cry like a little girl! Not just yet..

I shall give myself another two weeks, before I write a little good bye letter dedicated to New Zealands Beauty.

PS: I said: Not yet. Means I still will have my little, girly tiny emotional moment. Aye?

PS2: “Aye” Just because I just recently watched Pirate of the caribbean”. Arrrhhg

.
Well,… First of all… WAIT! Haha.. Did I just really write “First of all” after I already wasted 17and1/2 minutes? Ok. Nice try.

Sixth of all I mean,.. I hope everybody had beautiful last couple of weeks. Including Christmas, New Year and some quality time with family and friends :)

I – for myself – definitely enjoyed the time amongst Moniques family during the Christmas time and our adventurous time abroad in Australia for the New Years Celebtration and the first days of the New Year. And guess what?
If you stay tuned – you might get to know what actually happened. Of course nothing can be promised at this stage,.. but I may as well give the audience the feeling they get heavily entertained.

.
Therefore I divided the upcoming blog SLASH storytelling event into four beautiful little treasure pieces.
– Christmas, Sydney, New Years and Melbourne –

Isn’t it exciting?
Isn’t it just.
It is.
Trust me.

Christmas
X-mas (Cool Kids Version)

IMG_6770

IMG_6756

DSC00572

DSC00548

IMG_6769

DSC00582

DSC00528

DSC00530

DSC00532

IMG_6783

IMG_6791

IMG_6900
Christmas., 25.12.2015 – Kerikeri, NZ
.

.
It was a beautiful day – the 25.12.2015 – Christmas day. Even though I am used to celebrate (and receive pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeenty of presents) on the 24th – christmas eve – I generously waited oooone more night.

But what I received the next morning was worth the waiting, a 100-thousand percent! I got my very first stocking ever. Like presents in a christmas sock. JACKPOT!

Christmas in general is quite different over here. Surprise…
Obviously it’s summer, which is definitely the main difference.

But apart from 146 degrees in the shade – everybody loves each other on christmas just the same we do back home :)
I had a wonderful time!

My personal highlight: Well, that’s easy. I got chosen by (nearly) four year old Cutiepie/troublemaker/mostly cutiepie Willow to be Santa of the year 2015.

After my introduction: “Hohoho,.. I came a long way from a foreign country called germany and it’s warmer than I would have expected..” the show ran by itself. Ha! Good times :)

.

Shortly after christmas we left New Zealand for a two week holiday in Australia. With stops in Sydney and Melbourne.

Sydney
Sydniiih (ck version)

IMG_2812

IMG_2815

IMG_2819

IMG_2846

IMG_2850

IMG_2856

IMG_2859

IMG_6828

IMG_6832

IMG_6833

IMG_6897

IMG_2867

IMG_2891

IMG_2893

IMG_2901

IMG_2909

IMG_2916

IMG_2934

IMG_2930

 

IMG_2935

IMG_2937

IMG_2940

IMG_2941

IMG_2955

IMG_2959

IMG_2961

IMG_2970

IMG_2971

IMG_2979

IMG_2985

IMG_2986

IMG_2992

IMG_6866

IMG_6875

IMG_6877
In front of the Harbor Bridge, Sydney
.
Sydney is brilliant. I love it. Beautiful weather, beautiful beaches and a great city, downtown area. The harbor itself is outstanding. There is just one thing which annoys a little little tiny bit about Sydney. Tooooo many people.

We stayed for almost a week at Coogee beach, which is around 8km out of town. Ouuuh,.. that was sooosoooooo sweet. We really enjoyed it there! Some trips into the city, beach days, parks and exploring. Our Sydney-days had everything I love about traveling. Oh and there was this – highlight – New Year – right in the middle of it. (Next chapter, which is just around the corner).

IMG_6898

.
New Years Eve, Sydney
Silvester (german cool and normal kids)

Ok. I just put it out there right away. Our NYE was a mess,.. hahahah

Our plan: No plan.
Destination: Sydney Harbor.
Same Idea: 8,7 billion other people.

[…]

.
But let me start from the beginning. With out any doubt and naiv as kindergarten buddys my beloved kiwi co-pilot and myself went downtown Sydney on the 31st at around,… mhh… 2pm maybe. Too late? Haha… No way… Not in our minds at least.

Arriving downtown we realised: “HOLY YAPALIIIIIIII” .. it’s crowded already. And with each step towards the harbor it got worse and worse. But hey,… what is traveling and exploring without a little adventure or challenge every once in a while. After a bit of looking around we actually did manage to find a decent spot to see the fireworks in about eight (8!!!) hours time.

IMG_6906

IMG_6907

IMG_6918

.
Well,.. that was the plan at least. There was a little bit of a show going on from 6pm on the water so we though we will be well entertainted to survive this massive waiting time. Even though there was a liquor ban we got ourselves some goodies! Again: That was the “plan”.

Shortly after we settled in – THE PURE SYDNEY MADNESS STARTED. Being honest with you guys,.. I’ve been around a bit and have seen crowded places but what happened there at Sydneys beautiful harbor was the ULTIMATE crowdness!

People squished, shoulder to shoulder. No space at all. Even our cute little spot got invaded as if we were non-existing. We stood our ground – until 9 o’clock when the pre-fire work started. Enjoyed it: Yes. But when it was over the madness got even worse.
How was that even possible, I ask you people haha…

Long story short. We left our prison and ran into freedom as we felt relieved right away. With three hours COUNTDOWN to midnight, we decided to walk towards a neat spot we sat a couple of days before looking upon Sydneys skyline. So after a marathon (Not even kidding!) walk  – we arrived at our sweet skyline watching spot just in time to see the huge firework over Sydneys harbor. WOW! :)

IMG_6919

IMG_6925

IMG_6930

IMG_6932

IMG_6940

IMG_6941

IMG_6942

IMG_6944

IMG_6951

IMG_6958

With a midnight swim into the new year back at coogee beach we ended our crazy and exciting New Years Eve in Sydney! What a night!

IMG_6984

PS. I am happy that we made this decision. It’s not about a stupid fire work (even if it might be unique to see it up close) when you are not enjoying the moment. And I saw how many people weren’t enjoying any of this, us included. We are better than this, baby! :) (proud of you!)

.
And here we are, arriving at our last little chapter for today. Our trip over to Melbourne for another five days.

.

Melbourne
… (no cool kids found)

I just put it out there. Australia is awesome. God! Melbourne is such a beautiful city! And that comes from me who is definitely not a big fan of cities. It’s quite green and very friendly to the environment (including a free bike and public transport system).

Because we already had enough sun in Sydney we decided to follow other activities in M-citey, like we went to the Melbourne Zoo and saw a cricket game at the cricket stadium. For me as sport addictive addict A MUST SEE.

IMG_3021

IMG_7037

IMG_7038

IMG_7216

IMG_7234

IMG_7246

IMG_7248

IMG_7274

IMG_7280

IMG_7281

I will not got into too much of a deatil here,.. just because it would take too long to teach everybody the cricket rules. (It’s of course not because I myself took ages to get it) haha

Cricket is nice. I don’t love it but it was still fun. And we won. GO MELBOURNE STARS!

So we finally come across my personal highlight of our trip. Some might have guessed it already.. Melbournes Zoo was just the best spot ever!

IMG_3024

IMG_3025

IMG_3034

IMG_3037

IMG_3039

IMG_3046

IMG_3077

IMG_3103

IMG_3119

IMG_3130

IMG_3139

IMG_3141

IMG_3142

IMG_3162

IMG_3200

IMG_3201

IMG_3266

IMG_3269

IMG_3272

IMG_7102

 

 

IMG_7137

IMG_7139

IMG_7209

Favorites: KOALA! GORILLA! TIGER! (And kiwi girl!)

Now I want to see all of them in the wild.
One day. One day,…

Well. That’s it.
Monique and me we are back in kerikeri now. Resting, sorting and enjoying the last couple of days before we are heading off end of January. From Auckland – over Asia – into Europe and Germany.

For some people just a destination. For me: Home! <3

Love,

tj

Leave a Reply

