On stage

HELLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOUUUUUU,..

– SUPER EXCITED WELCOMING –

IT HAS BEEN AWHILE I KNOW SHAME ON ME::::

CAPSLOCK,.. määäää

I have less than two hours to update, friends,.. the next games are around the corner BUT .. I might call Sepp Blatterli and tell him to push the games due to my responsibility to write my blog every now and then. It’s all about priorities, aye.

By the way,.. what do I call Sepp Blatterli for? He’s gone, his spot is a free and a young, talented german journalist will take his seat. Unfortunatly we couldn’t find any,.. so it will be up to me to take care of FIFA business in the mean time. Goooly (beauti nz term).. what am I talking about,.. no time to waist. Vai vaii vaiiiii tj !!!

Ok, so here I am – lying in a SUPER COMFORTABLE bed in Christchurch. I arrived last night and made my way to Claire’s place. Claire is a friend of my brazilian recife football crew girls and so we got in touch. We met a few month ago when Chris and me where still traveling through the country. Well now I am back in her town and where is she? Gone, studying. Haha.. didn’t even see her last night,.. but her parents are awesome so they picked me up and gave me food and shelter. Lucky me. Will be around for a few nights, though since I have an appointment with world class u-20 football. Yes – Team Germany is in da house!

HOLD ON. What? Hääääääääääääää…

R E W I N D

wuschwuschwuschwuschwusch…

Confused? Why is this guy not in queenstown anymore? Whoooot.. shoocking.. drama..

True, people. I left my beloved home, people and friends, – not so much beloved work – but yes I left everything behind.

You may ask: Why? Yes.

I shall explain. Short version. Shortly after I arrived in NZ my boss from back home approached me, giving me a heads up like: He, there is the FIFA U-20 World Cup going on this year in NZ if it works out with your plans would you like to write something about it for us, like you did back in your Braziuuu days?. Together with the FIFA Accreditaion form he gave me hope and a dream.

I just applied without really expecting to receive anything back. But life’s good and beautiful so a few weeks later I received the approval of my application. I got my official FIFA media accreditation and smiled a thousand smiles a day, at least.

IMG_4043

official FIFA Media Accreditation conformation letter – long word and big smile.

That’s maybe a month ago. Eversince I started planning my trip, talked to my bosses from home and here, arranged three weeks of from one job and a three weeks contract for the other one. Haha,.. such a gambler.

You copy? – Cool.

So that’s why I left the lovely shed I live in. The FIFA World Cup I am writing about is from May 30th – June 20. So for three great weeks I am back in journalism and I am LOVING IT.

I started my trip last saturday. I took a rideshare – which was slighly (a fews hours) late – from Queenstown to Dunedin. Late that day I arrived and went to grab my accreditation right away. A sweet lil fotoshoot later and I got it. PAUUUUUUUUUU

IMG_4206

P R O U D :)

The next day I took advantage of my new official fifa press bla thing ish plastic card and went into the arena. I had access to all the cool areas and FOOD. So I ate.

And ate.

and ate.

Beside that I watched football. But mostly I ate. :)

Ok, friends. Not bullshitting – this was by far the best working experience ever. I FUCKING LOVE IT.

And as I just write these lines I realize that in about 2 1/2 I am back in the Arena to have this experience all over again. YES!!!!!

I am soo lucky. I do appreciate this chance a lot and won’t forget who to thank for it. So thank you brain, smile, charme, look,… hahaha.. I know I know..

Nono,… love goes out to the supportive cast I call family and friends. :*

=)

Hallo Mama, dass ist ein Kuss, ja :)

.
Beside all the food I ate recently I am even working a bit. I know,… you guys won’t believe shit what I am saying but it’s true. I published my first two World Cup articles already. And everybody who is talented enough to understand german is more than welcome to read them. I mean,… you can still just follow the link and enjoy the pictures but it might be more entertaining if you understand german. BUT he, that’s up to you.

Proof of the work I am doing – every now and then.

Blog article 1 – Den Stars von morgen auf der Spur

Bloc article 2 – Auftakt nach Maß

Oh and I actually wrote another one, about New Zealand itself – Die grüne Insel
So far so good. What else happened, oh yeah. I experienced another earth quake in Dunedin (really scary this time) and the first bus I was suppose to take to Christchurch didn’t make it all the way. So we turned around and I had to take the bus the next day. Anyways I am here now and finally found a gap to report to you guys :)

Here some shots of my first World Cup days.

IMG_9768

IMG_9769

IMG_9776

IMG_9780

IMG_9782

WM Foto,Werbung Dunedin

IMG_4172

IMG_4174

IMG_4200

IMG_4201

IMG_4207

IMG_4209

IMG_9757

IMG_4196

So today I finally get the chance to see Germany playing. They will play uzbekistan tonight at 1900. Oh and by the way team germany had a quite impressive start into the tournament. They won 8-1 against.., well.. that’s not important.. it was.. aeehhm.. ok FIDSCHI.. it was FIDSCHI.. and they never played in an official FIFA tournament before. What a lovely GERMAN welcome – isn’t it?

Ok,.. I need to take a shower now and bring my hair into FIFA shape.
Paaaah.. I just go wild.

But before,.. I have some lovely polaroids from my last beautiful days in queenstown to share. It’s about Glenorchy, snowballfights and Wanaka.

IMG_9397

IMG_9402

IMG_9403

IMG_9436

IMG_9437

IMG_9447

IMG_9568

IMG_9569

IMG_9574

IMG_9576

IMG_9580

Pathway to Paradise, Glenorchy

IMG_9588

IMG_9597

IMG_9614

IMG_9629

IMG_9656

IMG_9658

IMG_9688

IMG_9695

IMG_9698

IMG_9699

IMG_9700

WäwäwäwäWANAKA

IMG_9704

IMG_9717

IMG_9719

IMG_9726

IMG_9731

IMG_9732

IMG_9742

A queen of a snowballfight

That was fun guys. Let’s do that again at one point, shall we?

That was blogwriting for today people, I have to admit – I missed it a bit. A bit heaps!

Hope everybody is doing fine. Don’t you ever forget what I taught you.

 

A thousand smiles a day, at least.

IMG_4243

.love,

tj

Leave a Reply

